Online home of UK Jazz Group Empirical 

Empirical are the coolest UK Jazz Group, known for producing forward looking, risk taking, creative music. Nathaniel Facey (saxophone), Lewis Wright (vibraphone), Tom Farmer (double bass) and Shaney Forbes (drums). Each member has a uniquely equal role in the musical direction of the band, brought together through the core ethos of experimentation.

After meeting in 2007 whilst involved in the Tomorrow's Warriors scheme, and following the release of 'Empirical' (Destin-e), the band settled on the current lineup in 2008. Their in depth tribute to Eric Dolphy, 'Out 'n' In' (Naim), led to a MOBO award in 2010 for Best Jazz Act. After the 2011 release, 'Elements of Truth' (Naim), Empirical won the inaugural Golubovich Jazz Scholars fellowship at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. Through this award they collaborated with Benyounes String Quartet, and led to their 2013 album 'Tabula Rasa' (Naim). Their fifth studio album 'Connection' was released on Cuneiform Records in March 2016.

Empirical were the first UK Jazz group to conceive and deliver a 'Pop-up Jazz Lounge' in Old Street Station London, performing 18 sets to nearly 3000 new fans in 2016. They have developed the concept throughout 2017, taking the Pop-up nationwide.

Empirical have developed a strong live performance, presenting audiences around the world with challenging new music. Highlights include:

2015 Alfa Jazz Festival Ukraine
2014 Nisville Festival Serbia
2013 Jazz a la Vilette Paris
2012 London Jazz Festival supporting Ambrose Akinmusire
2012 Vietnam British Council Touring
2011 London Jazz Festival supporting Archie Shepp
2010 Cheltenham Jazz Festival
2010 Jazz Sous Les Pommiers
2010 Molde Jazz Festival
2009 London Jazz Festival supporting Bobby Hutcherson
2009 Bath International Festival supporting Branford Marsalis
2008 New York Jazz Festival Supporting the Bad Plus feat Kurt Rosenwinkel
2008 London Jazz Festival supporting Courtney Pine
2008 Gateshead International Festival supporting John Schofield
2007 Toronto Jazz Festival @ The IAJC
2007 North Sea Jazz Festival supporting Joshua Redman


2016 Parliamentary Jazz Awards- BEST ENSEMBLE

2013 Golubovich Jazz Scholars Award

2010 MOBO awards - BEST JAZZ ACT

2009 Parliamentary Jazz Awards- BEST ENSEMBLE

2007 EBU/European Jazz Competition - WINNER

2007 Peter Whittingham Award - WINNER

2007 Jazzwise - ALBUM OF THE YEAR